Download this manual on pdf
Article folders

A clearly structured folder system enables easy access to articles for users within the system. Each folder contains an individual privileges profile. This enables allocation of specific privileges to certain users. For example, giving editing privileges only to certain users, or hiding folders from certain user groups.

Adding a new article folder

In order to use these functions you need to have administration authorization for the working group.

Click on "Manage working group" within the action tab.

In this view you can see all the options available for use with regards to this working group.

Go to "Folder" within the work area. A new view will open.

In the left-hand section of the work area you can view all the folders and sub-folders that exist for this working group. Sub-folders are shown by a plus sign and can be shown by clicking on this sign.

In the right-hand section of the work area you can see more detailed information for each folder.

Step 1: Select the article folder/sub-folder in which you wish to create the new article folder by right-clicking on this folder.

Step 2: Click on "New folder" and give the new folder a title.

If you want to rename the folder, right-click on this new folder once again and select "Rename".

In order to display the new folder/s in the left-hand navigation tab, you must refresh Baobab. You can do this by clicking on the F5 key on your keyboard.

Editing an article folder

If you want to edit an article folder, select the folder/sub-folder in the left-hand section of the work area. In the right-hand section of the work area you can see more detailed information on each folder. Click on "Manage", and then select "Edit folder".

Here you can add translations of the folder name by clicking on the language tab.

If you want people to be able to find additional information on your folder (kind of information, material, etc.) you can add a descriptive text, which will be shown on the hit list in the search function (left-hand navigation tab "Search", for folders).

When you have completed all the details, save the changes by clicking on the "Save" button within the action tab.

Deleting an article folder

If you want to delete an article folder, select the folder/sub-folder in the left-hand section of the work area. In the right-hand section of the work area you can see more detailed information on each folder.

N.B.: All documents in the folder will be deleted too, so if you wish to use the documents in the future, first move the documents to another folder (see "Article folders/Moving folders and content": 3) Move only articles from the selected folder) or move a single document to another folder (see "Articles/Moving a single article to another folder").

Click on "Delete" and confirm with "OK".

Moving folders and content


If you want to move a sub-folder from one main folder to another, or move content from one folder to another, select the folder/sub-folder and make a right-click.

Choose between:

Move folder: move the selected folder, including all sub-folders and all content

Move sub-folders/articles: move only the sub-folders of the selected folder and their content

Move only articles of the selected folder

The system will now ask you to select the destination folder. Select the folder, right-click again and insert.

If you have authorization for other working groups, you can also move folders to other working groups. Therefore, first open all possible working groups by clicking on "Show all working groups", and then start moving folders.

Editing the folder profile for an entire working group

In this tutorial we would like to show you how to adjust user profiles for certain folders. In general, the user profile gives authorization to the entire working group, including article folders, the forum folder and the appointments folder. Usually, it makes sense that users are granted writing authorization within the forum folder.

N.B: Changes to user profile (see "User profiles") affect all users within that working group who received that profile. For example, if you change the "standard" profile for users (read only) to "editor" profile (read and write), all users will be able to write in all folders.

If you don't want users in the working group to be able to write in any folders, except in the forum folder, you have to change the settings in the folder profiles.

To add writing authorization for a standard user within the forum folder, follow these steps:

Step 1: Select the forum folder within the relevant working group from the left-hand action tab. In the work area you will now see the forum area.

Step 2: The authorization privileges of the standard user profile need to be increased, so click on the "Manage" folder in the action tab.

Step 3: Select the profile area. A new view opens, in which you can change the profiles. To add a new authorization privilege for this folder, select the profile you wish the changes to apply to. You do this by selecting the relevant profile form the drop-down menu. In our case, the profile is the standard profile. Select "Writing" and "Allow" and then click on "Add". You can now see under authorization privileges that the standard user profile has writing authorization. Reading authorization does not have to be actively allowed, as the standard profile already includes this authorization. If you wish to modify additional profiles, repeat these steps accordingly. You can increase or decrease authorization for each individual folder, including sub-folders within "Articles" or "Appointments".

Tip: In order to encourage sharing within your working group, we recommend that you restrict authorization in a minimal number of cases. In particular, information and knowledge sharing is most beneficial when all working group members have writing authorization. This applies to article, forum and appointments folders.