Download this manual on pdf
Users

Adding users to a working group

In order to use these functions you need to have administration authorization for the working group.

Select the working group to which you want to add a new user. Click on "Manage working group" within the action tab.

In this view you can see all the options available for use with regards to this working group.

Go to "User" within the work area:

Step 1: In the work area select the "New user" button. A new screen will open.

Step 2: Type the last name of the user in the search window. Make sure you use the correct spelling. Depending on the situation, the "Auto-complete" function will offer you a choice of names, from which you can select one by clicking on the appropriate name.

Step 3: Activate the search. Please note that a check will first be made to see if the user already has access within Baobab.

Step 4: You will receive an overview of all the Baobab users with the searched-for name. You can then check which of the displayed users is the one you're looking for. (N.B.: if the user you're looking for is not on the list, you have to create a new user account. See "Users/Creating a new user in Baobab")

Step 5: Add the user to the working group by clicking on the "Accept user" button.

Step 6: Now you give the user a profile authorization level. Select the desired profile and click on the "Accept profile" button.

Three standard profiles are available within a working group:
  • Administrator: administrate, read and write
  • Editor: read and write
  • Standard user: read
Step 7: Save this user.

Creating a new user in Baobab

In order to use these functions you need to have administration authorization for the working group.

Select the working group to which you want to add a new user. Click on "Manage working group" within the action tab.

In this view you can see all the options available for use with regards to this working group.

Go to "User" within the work area:

Step 1: Select the "New user" button in the work area. A new window will open.

Step 2: Type the last name of the user in the search window. Make sure you use the correct spelling. Activate the search. Please note that a check will first be made to see if the user already has access within Baobab.

Step 3: If the desired user does not have Baobab access you will receive a message stating so. Click on the "Next" button to add the user for the first time ("User not found? Add a new user here").

Step 4: A form will now open. Type in the user's title, and first and last names, as well as their email address and their desired username. The username is part of the login details that the new user will need (combined with their password, which the user receives by email – see Step 8) in order to log into Baobab. If you click on the "Suggest usernames" button, Baobab will suggest an appropriate username. However, this suggestion is optional.

Baobab is available in three languages (English, French and Spanish). Please choose a language for the new user. He or she will receive the password in an email in the selected language and the user guidance for the first login will be in that language, which users may change themselves.

Last name, first name, email address and user name are mandatory fields.

When you have filled in all the fields, click on the "Next" button in the action tab.

Step 5: Assign the user an institution. To do this you have to search for the relevant member organisation. The quickest way to find the relevant institution is to enter the country name in the search window and click on "Search".

N.B.: If the user is NOT an employee of a member organisation, then please enter the postcode 99999 (external organisation) or ask the Baobab team (baobab@caritas.va) for help. External users are only members of their working group. They could not visit the open working groups and couldn't search for documents and users outside their group.

Step 6: Now you see a results list. Select the relevant institution and click on the "Confirm institution" button.

Step 7: Now you can apply an authorization profile to the user. Select the relevant profile and click on the "Accept profile" button.

Three standard profiles are available within a working group:
  • Administrator: administrate, read and write
  • Editor: read and write
  • Standard user: read
Step 8: Save this user.

After saving, the new user will receive an email with his or her access data (login name and password). The password will be automatically generated by the system.

Deleting users from a working group

In order to use these functions you need to have administration authorization for the working group.

Select the working group from which you want delete a user. Click on "Manage working group" within the action tab.

In this view you can see all options available for use with regards to this working group.

Go to "User" within the work area.

You will find a list of all users in your working group by clicking "Show all users from this working group". If you want to create an Excel list with all these names, click on "export of users list" in the action tab. The Excel list will be sent to you. You can find it in the list in "My messages".

To delete an user please go on with the following steps:

Step 1: Type the last name of the user in the search window at "Search for user in your working group". Make sure to use the correct spelling. The "Auto-complete" function will offer you a choice of names, from which you can select one by clicking on the appropriate name.

Step 2: To remove a user from your working group first select the relevant user from the left-hand overview and then click on "Remove/Delete" on the right-hand side.

To view additional information regarding the user you can click on the "Show user" button on the right- hand side. By clicking on the "Back" button you can see the overview screen again.

Step 3: You will now be asked if the user should be removed from the working group. Select "Delete from working group only". The user then has no further access to your working group, but still has access to his or her other Baobab working groups.

Deleting users from Baobab

Users should be permanently removed from Baobab for the following reasons only:

The user no longer works for Caritas (resignation or retirement)

The user has died.

Please note:

Should a user marry and change their name or email address, then users themselves can update their information (see My Baobab/My profile). It's not necessary to delete the account and create a new one.

If you want to delete a user from the system, please contact the Baobab team (baobab@caritas.va) and send us the user's first and last name and email address and the reason for deletion.

Changing user profiles

In order to use these functions you need to have administration authorization for the working group.

Select the working group from which you want delete an user. Click on "Manage working group" within the action tab.

In this view you can see all options available for use with regards to this working group.

Go to "User" within the work area.

Step 1: Type the user's last name in the search window at "Show all users in working group". Make sure to use the correct spelling. The "Auto-complete" function will offer you a choice of names, from which you can select one by clicking on the appropriate name.

Step 2: Click on "Edit profile" on the right-hand side.

Step 3: Remove the tick from the current profile box, then choose the new profile.

Don't forget to save.