Address: BP. 46 Moroni, Union of Comoros
Telephone: +269 773 78 30
Facebook: caritasmoroni  Blog:

Caritas Comoros was founded in 1979 and reached a preliminary partnership agreement with the Comoros government via the Ministry of Health on 5 February 1983, which was amended on 21 June 1994 and revised in 2011.

The Union of Comoros is primarily a Moslem country, comprising four islands of which three belong to the Union of Comoros and one (Mayotte) is a French department.

Caritas Comores is a national and diocesan Caritas and has three parishes: the parish of Saint Teresa of the Infant Jesus in Moroni, which is the headquarters of Caritas Comoros and residence of the Bishop; the parish of Anjouan; and Our Lady of Fatima in Mamudzu (Mayotte, a French department), which is covered by the Caritas France delegation. Mohéli has a chapel without a permanent priest.

Caritas Comoros has two areas of intervention:

The first is healthcare, with one health centre and 12 first aid posts on the three islands of the Union of Comoros. On average, 270,000 people a year use our healthcare facilities. We also manage a reception and support centre for poor people, and a nutrition centre. The health sector employs 65 people.

The second regards the self-promotion of women, including three centres that welcome an average of 300 women and girls and provide them with literacy, sewing and embroidery, and cooking courses.

Caritas Comoros works in collaboration with several local partners: the Ministry of Health, the School of Medicine and Public Health of the Union of Comoros, the French Embassy, UNICEF Comoros, UNFPA Comoros, the Rotary Club and the Lions Club, the Red Cross, the network of civil society associations, the French Development Agency, CHN Mayotte, and the Secours Catholique (Caritas France) delegation in Mayotte. as.

Updates from Comoros